Skilled migration visa for Australia

4 steps for a skilled migration visa for Australia

So you are going for it.  A move to Australia is the plan for the future.  Now begins the hard work of applying for the skilled migration visa for Australia.

There are 4 steps to lodging a skilled migration visa application you should be aware of:

1. Skill assessment

You would firstly confirm your occupation on the Skilled Occupation List (SOL) or the Consolidated Skilled Occupation List (CSOL) set by the Australian government.


Once you have confirmed your occupation is on either the SOL or CSOL you can then apply for a skill assessment of your occupation for the relevant assessing body.  This is listed next to your occupation in the lists.

Assessing authorities
2. English test score

Most people need bonus points acquired by producing either a proficient or superior score in an English test (IELTS or PTE Academic Test) as part of scoring the minimum passmark of 60 set by the Australian government, migration points skills test.

The PTE Academic test is preferred by most of my clients for ease of booking and undertaking.

3. Expression of Interest

Once you have your positive skill assessment outcome and relevant English test result you can proceed to the stage of lodging an Expression of Interest through the Skillselect system for the particular migration visa you are wish to apply for.

The various types of migration visas:


4. Lodging a skilled migration visa application

Once an invitation to apply is received from the Expression of Interest, skilled visa applications are lodged via the ImmiAccount system of the Australian government

The application fee is currently AU$3,600 for the main applicant, AU$1,800 for spouse applicant, AU$900 for each dependent child.